The Ashes Cricket Series

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

The Ashes Cricket 2002-03

Australia won the Ashes

After playing in nine successive Ashes series, the 2002-03 rubber was to be Australian captain Steve Waugh's last against England, and was to prove one of the most emphatic victories he enjoyed against the English. The series began with what many regard in hindsight as one of the worst captaincy decisions of all time, as Nasser Hussain won the toss for England in the first Test and sent Australia in to bat. By the end of the first day, Australia had amassed a staggering 364/2, and placed a stamp of authority on the series that would not be undone as they raced to victory by 384 runs. This was followed by two innings victories to Australia, and a fairly comfortable five-wicket win. England only managed to save some face with a 225-run victory in the final Test.
The series' most memorable moment came on the second day of the Fifth Test at the Sydney Cricket Ground. Leading into the match Waugh had been heavily scrutinised by selectors and the media over his advancing age and lack of recent form, having not posted a Test century since 2001. As this was the last match of the series and last Test of the Australian summer, Waugh was likely to be dropped from the team if he failed again in this match. Asked before the match about the defining moment of a career likely to soon be over, Waugh predicted gamely "It might be yet to come." In a stunning display of determination and defiance, he then fulfilled this prophecy by scoring a chanceless century on the second afternoon. He had entered the final over of the day on 95 not out, and hit a boundary off the last ball (bowled by English off spinner Richard Dawson) to bring up his ton. Waugh left the ground to an emotional standing ovation, his Test career saved. It came to be known as his 'Perfect Day'.

The Ashes Cricket 2002-03 Results

First Test, Brisbane (07-10 Nov 2002)

Australia won by 384 runs

Australia 492 & 296/5 dec.
England 325 & 79 Man of the Match: Matthew Hayden

Second Test, Adelaide Oval (2124 Vov 2002)

Australia won by an innings and 51 runs

England 342 & 159
Australia 552/9 dec. Man of the Match: Ricky Ponting

Third Test, Perth (29 Nov 01 Dec 2002)

Australia won by an innings and 48 runs

England 185 & 223
Australia 456 Man of the Match: Damien Martyn

Fourth Test, Melbourne (26-30 Dec 2002)

Australia won by 5 wickets

Australia 551/6 dec. & 107/5
England 270 & 387 Man of the Match: Justin Langer

Fifth Test, Sydney (2-6 Jan 2003)

England won by 225 runs; Australia Won the Series 4-1

England 362 & 452/9 dec.
Australia 363 & 226 Man of the Match: Michael Vaughan
Men of the Series: Michael Vaughan

Australian Cricket History

India Cricket Live

Australia - World beaters! Discuss More

The Australian cricket team is one of the leading international teams in world cricket. Australia was one of the first two Test nations (with England) and have an outstanding recent Test record and in the one dayers were World Champs in 1987, 1999 and 2003. They are also the leaders in the current ICC Test Nations table. Dates in history of Australian cricket
November, 1868: 1868 Aboriginal cricket tour of England
15 March 1877: Test debut
28 December 1934: Women's Test team debut
5 January 1971: ODI Debut
23 June 1973: Women's ODI team debut
8 November 1987: Won 4th edition of Cricket World Cup by defeating England in the final match at Eden Gardens, Calcutta.
20 June 1999: Steve Waugh lifts the World Cup
23 March 2003: Ricky Ponting lifts the World Cup

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.